Samuel

De CreationWiki
Tophanna.jpg
Samuel (Hébreu שְׁמוּאֵ֔ל Shemuel, Nom veut dire::entendu de Dieu) (ca. Né(e)::25 Tébeth 2853 AM–fl. Fleurit::15 Sivan 2903 AMMort(e)::Aviv 2944 AM)[1] était le quinzième et dernier Juge d'Israël. Il aussi a oint les premiers deux rois du Royaume Uni d'Israël.[2][3][4]

Première vie

Samuel était membre de::Lévite, fils d'Anne et Elkana. Il est né au pays vallonné d'Éphraïm, car son père était descendant de::Kehathite et en fait Korite. Anne a eu prié sincèrement à Dieu qu'elle aurait un fils, et a eu promis que si elle a eu un fils, elle dédierait ce fils à Dieu tant qu'il est véçu.

Le sens du nom de Samuel est ou « entendu de Dieu » (de la même origine du nom d'Ishmaël)[5] ou « nom de Dieu » (de la même origine du nom de Sem).[6]

La Bible donne peu d'indices à la date de naissance de Samuel, mais Floyd Nolen Jones[1] suggère qu'elle s'est passée à moint trente ans avant la prise de l'arche (voyez ci-dessous). Samuel a été probablement conçu immédiamment après la Pâque précédente, car la Pâque est la plus probable candidate pour la sacrifice annuelle à laquelle Elkana et Anne ont participié. (1_Samuel 1:1-20 ) Ainsi sa naissance se serait passée à peu près deux cent quatre vingt jours plus tard.

Quand Samuel avait cinq ans, sa mère l'a amené à Éli, le souverain sacrificateur, à Silo. (1_Samuel 1:21-28 ) Chaque année elle lui amenerait une nouvelle robe pour porter. (1_Samuel 2:18-20 )

Quand Samuel avait douze ans, il a entendu une voix appelante son nom. Il croyait qu'Éli l'appelait, et donc il l'a réveillé. Éli a démenti avoir eu l'appelé. Ceci s'est passé encore, et puis une troisième fois, et cette fois Éli lui a dit que s'il entendrait encore la voix, il devrait répondre à elle comme si la voix appartenait à Dieu.

La voix a parlé encore, et Samuel a répondu, « Parle, car ton serviteur écoute. » Puis la voix s'est identifié comme appartenante à Dieu. Dieu a dit que quelque chose était sur le point d'arriver que ferrait frissonner les oreilles de chaque homme qui en a entendu parler. Cette chose concernait Éli, dont les deux fils ont eu executé leurs devoirs pour beaucoup d'années en une manière impropre et offensive. Dieu a dit qu'ils ne pourraient pas expier toujours leurs péchés seulement par des offrandes brûlées, et qu'Éli souffrirait aussi, car il savait ce que ses fils ont eu fait et a failli de les châtier proprement pour lui.

Samuel avait peur de dir à Éli ce que Dieu lui a eu dit, mais Éli l'a forcé de le dire. Après que Samuel a eu parlé, Éli, en une manière résignée, a dit que Dieu ferrait ce qui Lui semblerait bon. (1_Samuel 3:1-18 )

Âge adulte

En l'hiver de 2883 AM, Samuel est devenu adulte, car trente ans était l'âge adulte pour les Lévites. Mais presque trois mois plus tôt, le professeur et maître particulier de Samuel est mort. Les Israélites et les Philistins a lutté une bataille majeure prè d'Aphek en ou environ 1 Boul 2883 AM. Les Israélites ont subi quatre mille pertes, et puis les aînés d'Israël ont fait venir l'arche de l'engagement. Hophni et Phinées, les fils d'Éli, ont porté l'arche au champ de bataille.

Ils ne sont revenus jamais. Un Benjamite innommé est venu du champ de bataille pour rapportez qu'Israël a eu subit trente mille plus de pertes, y compris Hophni et Phinées, et que l'arche a eu été prise. Éli, quand il a entendu ça, a tombé en arrière en son siège, s'est cassé le cou, et est mort. (1_Samuel 4:1-18 )

Sept mois plus tard, une charette tirée par deux vâches est venu à Beth Schémesch. L'arche était sur cette charette, avec une boîte contenante cinq furoncles d'or en apparence comme les hémorroîdes et cinq souris d'or. Malheureusement, 50 070 personnes ont regardé l'intérieur de l'arche, et Dieu a tué tous d'eux à cause de cette sacrilège. Ainci les aînés de la ville de Beth Schémesch ont demandé aux aînés de Kirjath Jearim, ville Gabaonite, de garder l'arche, et ils ont donné leur consentement pour le faire. (1_Samuel 6 )

Bataille de Mizpa

Vingt ans après, la carrière de Samuel comme Juge a vraiment commencé. En ou environ le 15 Sivan 2903 AM, Samson a pris sa revanche terrifiante par séparant par la force les piliers du Temple de Dagon, ainsi causant son effondrement et tuant tous les Seigneurs des Cinq Villes des Philistins et trois mille autres personnes en outre de lui-même. (Juges 16:23-31 ) Cet acte ne suffirait pas en soi pour libérer le peuple d'Israël, et les Philistins étaient probablement furieux.

Mais peut-être Samuel a vu ça comme occasion de profit. Il n'a dit rien à propos de la revanche de Samson et tout à propos du comportement négatif qu'a eu causé Dieu de permettre aux Philistins de les dominer depuis quarante ans. Il a dit à eux de cesser de vénérer Baal et Ashera et vénérer Dieu seul. Cette fois les gens d'Israël ont donné leur consentement et puis ont mené à terme leure résolution. Puis Samuel a fait se ramasser les Israélites à Mizpa. Ils l'ont fait, et Samuel les a mené en une cérémonie solennelle de répentance. (1_Samuel 7:1-6 )

Les Philistins ont entendu parler à propos de la réunion et ont envoyé leure armée à Mizpa. Les Israélites avaient peur, mais au lieu de déserter Samuel, ils ont demandé à lui de continuer d'intercéder pour eux à Dieu. Samuel a sacrificé un agneau à la mamelle comme offrande brûlée. Puis quand les Philistins sont venu près, Dieu a envoyé un orage pour les confondre, et les Israélites les ont mis en déroute et ont chassé jusqu'a Beth-car. En fait Israël a reconquis nombreuses villes que les Philistins ont eu occupé. (1_Samuel 7:7-14 )

Juge de circuit

Samuel a établi d'abord un circuit judiciaire qui incluait Rama, sa ville natale, et les villes de Béthel, Guilgal, et Mizpa. (1_Samuel 7:15-17 ) Mais cinq ans après, Samuel a nommé ses deux fils, Joël et Abija, pour servir comme juges en Beer Schéba. Mais ces deux hommes n'étaient pas honnêtes, comme Samuel; ils acceptaient (ou peut-être exigaient) des pots-de-vin et jugaient leurs cas en une manière déshonnête. (1_Samuel 8:1-3 )

Puis les aînés d'Israël ont fait une demande de Samuel qui a brisé sa coeur: ils ont demandé qu'il nommer un roi pour fonctionner comme « juge » permanent et héréditaire. Samuel a prié à Dieu à propos de ça, et Dieu a dit à Samuel de laisser parler les aînés ce qu'ils voulaient, car ils n'ont pas eu rejeté personnellement Samuel, mais ont eu rejeté Dieu comme Juge ultime. Ainsi Samuel a mis en garde le peuple de ce qu'un royaume amenerait: des armées actives, de la conscription, et de l'imposition. Mais les gens ont insisté d'avoir un roi, afin qu'ils pourraient être « comme toutes les nations. » (1_Samuel 8:4-20 )

Nomination de Saül

Enfin Dieu a ordonné à Samuel de nommer un roi pour le peuple d'Israël. (1_Samuel 8:21-22 ) Spécifiquement, Dieu a dit à Samuel d'attendre un certain Benjamite de venir à lui, et que cet homme était l'attributaire de Dieu. Le Benjamite, Saül, est arrivé en 2909 AM, en demandant de voir le voyant, ou prophète. Samuel a dit à Saül qu'il était le prophète, et que Saül devrait rester et dîner avec lui. Samuel a dit aussi à Saül que quelques ânes qu'il a eu perdu ont eu été trouvés. Saül a accepté l'invitation de Samuel, et Samuel a servi à Saül une portion réservée. (1_Samuel 9:15-24 )

Le lendemain, Samuel a dit à Saül de se lever bientôt, afin qu'ils pourrait commencer de voyager vers Béthel et le tombeau de Rachel. En route, Samuel a demandé à Saül d'envoyer sa domestique en énclaireur de lui. (1_Samuel 9:25-27 ) Puis Samuel a pris une flasque d'huile et a versé l'huile sur la tête de Saül. Puis il a dit à Saül que Dieu a choisi Saül d'être le premier vrai roi d'Israël. (1_Samuel 10:1 )

Samuel a fait venir encore les Israélites à Mizpa et a donné à eux ce message: ils ont eu rejeté Dieu comme Gouverneur direct et ont eu demandé un roi, et maintenant God en les donnerait. Puis il a tiré au sort, et le sort a tombé à tour de rôle sur la tribu de Benjamin, et puis le clan Matrite, et enfin sur Saül. D'abord Saül s'est caché de Samuel près du train de bagage de sa tribu, mais Samuel l'a fait chercher. En fait Saül mesurait plus haut par tête et épaules que tous les Israélites. Samuel a annoncé Saül comme le choix, et le peuple ont acclamé Saül comme leur roi, sauf quelques mécontents qui refusaient d'accepter son autorité. (1_Samuel 10:17-27 )

Presque immédiamment Saül a lutté une bataille contre le Roi Nachasch l'Ammonite, et a gagné. Puis le peuple ont démandé de Samuel qu'il livrer les mécontents pour l'exécution sommaire, mais Saül a rejeté cette exigeance. Samuel puis a fait venir le peuple à Guilgal et a répété la couronnement de Saül. (1_Samuel 11 )

Samuel puis ont fait un discours au peuple le Adieu::1 Sivan 2909 AM. Il a reconsidéré l'histoire de l'ère des Juges et a réprimandé le peuple pour demandant un roi. Dieu a envoyé un orage pour mettre l'accent sur Son ennui, mais Samuel a conseillé le people de ne jamais détourner de Dieu, et que Dieu n'abandonnerait pas Son peuple. (1_Samuel 12 )

Disputes avec Saül

Samuel aurait deux occasions de se disputer avec Saül. La première s'est passée durant la deuxième année officielle du royaume de Saül (2911 AM/1093 BC). Les Philistins ont amassé une très grande force de 30 000 charettes et 6 000 cavaliers, bien que Saül n'avait que 3 000 d'enfanterie, divisés entre lui-même et son fils Jonathan. Samuel a dit à Saül d'attendre pour lui de venir au camp à Guilgal pour faire une offrande brûlée. Samuel était en retard pour arriver, et quand il est arrivé, il a découvert Saül faisant l'offrande brûlée sans attendre Samuel.

Samuel a dit à Saül que s'il seulement a eu attendu, Dieu aurait établi son royaume pour durer toujours. Maintenant, ça ne serait pas. En fait, Samuel a prédit que Dieu trouverait bientôt un autre homme d'être roi à la place de Saül. (1_Samuel 13:1-14 )

La seconde dispute s'est passée à propos du traîtement par Saül des Amalekites. Samuel a donné à Saül un message direct de Dieu d'attaquer les Amelekites et les détruire complètement. Au lieu de le faire, Saül a atrapé vivant le Roi Agag d'Amalek et a préservé aussi des bétails et autre butin valable. Ce péché était très similaire au péché d'Acan le Provocateur à Jéricho. Samuel est venu à Saül et l'a réprimandé pour la dernière fois, en disant que Saül a eu désobéi à Dieu en prenant de butin quand les ordres de Dieu ont eu été pour la destruction complète. Pour ça, Dieu démettrait finalement Saül comme roi d'Israël. D'abord, Saül a attenté de mentir à Samuel et dire qu'il a eu obéi aux ordres de Dieu, mais ses soldats ont eu désobéi en prenant du butin, mais Samuel ne l'accepterait pas. Puis Saül a reconnu qu'il a eu péché contre Dieu et a demandé à Samuel son pardon, mais maintenant le pardon nétait pas pour Samuel d'accorder, et Samuel l'a dit. Finalement Saül a attenté de détenir Samuel par attrapant sa robe, et n'a réussit à déchirer la robe. Samuel a dit à Saül que Dieu n'était pas homme ordinaire, ayant l'habitude de Se changer d'avis. (1_Samuel 15:1-31 )

La dernière chose que Samuel a fait était de faire venir Agag et l'exécuter sommairement. Samuel puis est revenu chez lui en Rama. Il n'a jamais vu Saül encore. (1_Samuel 15:32-35 )

Onction de David

En 2934 AM (1070 BC), Dieu a envoyé Samuel à Bethléem, la petite ville du sud de Jérusalem près de l'endroit du tombeau de Rachel. Bethléem était la ville natale d'une famille de la tribu de Juda qui descendait de Nachschon, le premier meneur de clan de Juda durant l'Exode d'Israël. Dieu a dit à Samuel d'emporter avec lui une génisse et dire à n'importe quelle personne qui se renseignerait qu'il a été venu à Bethléem pour offrir une sacrifice à Dieu. Puis il inviterait Isaï et ses fils de participer.

Isaï est venu, et il et sept de ses fils se sont avancés. Samuel a regardé chaque file au tour de rôle, et Dieu a dit que Samuel devait chercher un autre fils. Samuel a rejeté sept jeuns hommes et puis a demandé à Isaï s'il avait aucuns autres fils. Isaï a dit qu'il avait un huitième fils qui s'est laissé pour tendre les moutons. Samuel a dit à Isaï de le faire venir.

Puis le huitième fils est arrivé. Ceci était un garçon qui avait à peu près quinze ans, et avait des joues colorées et une belle face. Dieu a dit à Samuel, « C'est l'un. » Ainsi Samuel a pris une flasque d'huile et l'a utilisé pour oindre le garçon. C'était David, qui à la fin succéderait Saül comme roi. (1_Samuel 16:1-13 )

Mort

Samuel est mort en 2944 AM (1060 av. J-C) et était enterré en Rama. Ceci s'est passé durant la guerre civile entre David et Saül. (1_Samuel 25:verses-1 )

Cinq ans plus tard, Saül a fait sa consultation infameuse de la Sorcière d'Endor et a demandé à elle d'évoquer l'esprit de Samuel pour lui. Une apparition de Samuel puis a donné à Saül son avis final: que car il a désobéi à maintes reprises à Dieu, il mourrait en bataille avec les Philistins. (1_Samuel 28:1-18 ) Ce désaster est arrivé le lendemain. (1_Samuel 31:1-8 )

L'église orthodoxe orientale célèbre un jour de fête pour Samuel le 20 août.[7]

Vues critiques

Wayne Blank admet à plusieurs reprises[6] que multiples auteurs ont écrit les deux Livres de Samuel. Aucune autre inférence n'est raisonnable, car Samuel est mort avant que les événements du premier livre se sont terminés.

Hirsch et autres citent plusieures autorités innommées de dire que les présents Livres de Samuel (publiés originalement comme un volume) se sont écrits beaucoup plus tardivement que les événements qu'ils décrivent, et sont vraiment des compilations des histoires souvent inégaux. [2][4][8] Hirsch déclare aussi, sans justification, que le Texte masorétique des livres de Samuel est « corrompu. »[8]

L'objection principale paraît être aux deux récits différents à propos de l'accession de Saül. Mais cettes autorités ne considèrent jamais que Saül peut-être a reçu deux acclamations distinctes. La première acclamation se passe après un choix au hasard. La dependance apparente sur le hasard est trompeuse. Dieu est Souverain sur tous les événements, et donc rien ne se passe vraiment au hasard. La seconde acclamation se passe après une victoire militaire assez décisive comme la victoire de Gédéon, et une telle victoire serait une signe additionnelle que Saül avait la bénédiction de Dieu, à moins d'abord.


Précédé(e) par
Successeur de::Samson
Membre de::Juge
fleurit::15 Sivan 2903 AMMort(e)::Aviv 2944 AM
Dernier
Premier Membre de::Prophète
fleurit::Aviv 2865 AMMort(e)::Aviv 2944 AM
Vacant
Titre tenu ensuite par
succédé(e) par::Nathan
Creationwiki french biblique portal.png
Naviguez


Références

  1. 1,0 et 1,1 Jones, Floyd N., The Chronology of the Old Testament, Green Forest, AR: Master Books, 2004, p. 279 et graphique 4
  2. 2,0 et 2,1 Hirsch EG, Bachler W, et Lauterbach JZ, « Samuel, » The Jewish Encyclopedia, n.d. Accédé le 26 décembre 2008.
  3. Konig, G, « Samuel, » AboutBibleProphecy, n.d. Accédé le 26 décembre 2008.
  4. 4,0 et 4,1 « Samuel. » Encyclopædia Britannica. 2008. Encyclopædia Britannica Online. Accédé le 26 décembre 2008 <http://www.britannica.com/EBchecked/topic/520794/Samuel>.
  5. « Samuel, » WebBible Encyclopedia, n.d. Accédé le 26 décembre 2008.
  6. 6,0 et 6,1 Blank, Wayne, « Samuel, » Daily Bible Study, 2001. Accédé le 26 décembre 2008.
  7. Samuel de OrthodoxWiki
  8. 8,0 et 8,1 Hirsch EG, « Samuel, Books of, » The Jewish Encyclopedia, n.d. Accédé le 26 décembre 2008.


Voyez aussi

The Creation Wiki is made available by the NW Creation Network
Watch monthly live webcast - Like us on Facebook - Subscribe on YouTube

Samuel

From CreationWiki, the encyclopedia of creation science
Jump to: navigation, search
Tophanna.jpg

Samuel (Hebrew: שמואל, Shemūʼēl; "Name means::heard of God") (ca. Born::25 Teveth 2853 AM–fl. Flourit::15 Sivan 2903 AMDied::Abib 2944 AM)[1] was the fifteenth and last Judge of Israel. He also anointed the first two kings of the United Kingdom of Israel.[2][3][4]

Early Life

Samuel was a member of::Levite, the son of Hannah and Elkanah. He was born in the hill country of Ephraim, because his father was a descendant of::Kohathite and in fact a Korite. Hannah had prayed earnestly to God that she would have a son, and had pledged that if she had a son, she would dedicate that son to God as long as he lived.

The meaning of Samuel's name is either "heard of God" (from the same root as the name of Ishmael)[5] or "name of God" (from the same root as the name of Shem).[6]

The Bible gives few clues to the date of the birth of Samuel, but Floyd Nolen Jones[1] suggests that it occurred at least thirty years before the capture of the ark (see below). Samuel was probably conceived immediately after the preceding Passover, because Passover is the most likely candidate for the annual sacrifice in which Elkanah and Hannah participated. (1_Samuel 1:1-20 ) Therefore his birth would have occurred about two hundred eighty days later.

When Samuel was five years old, his mother brought him to Eli, the high priest, at Shiloh. (1_Samuel 1:21-28 ) Every year she would bring him a new robe to wear. (1_Samuel 2:18-20 )

When Samuel was twelve years old, he heard a voice calling his name. He thought that Eli was calling him, and so he woke him up. Eli denied having called him. This happened again, and then a third time, and this time Eli told him that if he heard the voice again, then he should answer as though the voice belonged to God.

The voice spoke again, and Samuel answered, "Speak, for Your servant is listening." Then the voice identified itself as belonging to God. God said that something was about to happen that would make every man's ears tingle who heard about it. This thing concerned Eli, whose two sons had been performing their duties for years in an improper and offensive manner. God said that they would not be able to atone for their sins forever by burnt offerings alone, and that Eli would suffer as well, because he knew what his sons had been doing and did not properly chasten them for it.

Samuel was afraid to tell Eli what God had told him, but Eli forced him to tell it. When Samuel had spoken, Eli, in a resigned manner, said that God would act as He saw fit. (1_Samuel 3:1-18 )

Adulthood

In the winter of 2883 AM, Samuel became an adult, because thirty years was the age of adulthood for Levites. But almost three months earlier, Samuel's tutor and mentor died. The Israelites and the Philistines fought a major battle near Aphek on or about 1 Bul 2883 AM. The Israelites suffered four thousand casualties, and then the elders of Israel sent for the ark of the covenant. Hophni and Phinehas, the sons of Eli, carried the ark to the battlefield.

They never came back. An unnamed Benjaminite came from the battlefield to report that Israel has suffered thirty thousand additional casualties, including Hophni and Phinehas, and that the ark had been captured. Eli, when he heard that, fell backward in his chair, broke his neck, and died. (1_Samuel 4:1-18 )

Seven months later, a cart drawn by two milk cows came to Beth-shemesh. The ark was on this cart, along with a box containing five golden hemorrhoid-like boils and five golden mice. Unhappily, 50,070 people looked inside the ark, and God killed them all for this sacrilege. So the city elders of Beth-Shemesh asked the elders of Kiriath-jearim, a Gibeonite town, to keep the ark, and they did. (1_Samuel 6 )

Battle of Mizpah

Twenty years later, Samuel's career as a Judge began in earnest. On or about 15 Sivan 2903 AM, Samson took his awesome revenge by pushing apart the pillars of the Temple of Dagon, thus causing its collapse and killing all the Lords of the Five Cities of the Philistines and three thousand other people in addition to himself. (Judges 16:23-31 ) This act would not have sufficed by itself to deliver the people of Israel, and the Philistines were probably enraged.

But perhaps Samuel saw this as an opportunity. He said nothing about Samson's revenge and everything about the bad behavior that had caused God to allow the Philistines to dominate them for forty years. He told them to stop worshiping Baal and Asherah and worship God alone. This time the people of Israel agreed and followed through. Then Samuel summoned all the Israelites to gather at Mizpah. They did, and Samuel led them in a solemn ceremony of repentance. (1_Samuel 7:1-6 )

The Philistines heard about the gathering and sent their army to Mizpah. The Israelites were afraid, but instead of deserting Samuel, they asked him to continue to intercede for them to God. Samuel sacrificed a nursing lamb as a burnt offering. Then when the Philistines came near, God sent a thunderstorm to confuse them, and the Israelites routed them and chased them as far as Beth-car. Indeed Israel reconquered a number of cities that the Philistines had occupied. (1_Samuel 7:7-14 )

Circuit judge

Samuel at first established a judicial circuit that included Ramah, his home, and the cities of Bethel, Gilgal, and Mizpah. (1_Samuel 7:15-17 ) But five years later, Samuel appointed his two sons, Joel and Abijah, to serve as judges in Beersheba. But these two men were not honest, as Samuel was; they took bribes and judged their cases in a dishonest manner. (1_Samuel 8:1-3 )

Then the elders of Israel made a request of Samuel that broke his heart: they demanded that he appoint a king to be a permanent and hereditary "judge." Samuel prayed to God about this, and God told Samuel to let the elders speak their peace, because they had not rejected Samuel personally, but had rejected God as their ultimate Judge. So Samuel warned the people of what having a king would mean: standing armies, conscription, and taxation. But the people insisted on having a king, so that they could be "like all the nations." (1_Samuel 8:4-20 )

Appointment of Saul

Finally God ordered Samuel to appoint a king for the people of Israel. (1_Samuel 8:21-22 ) Specifically, God told Samuel to expect a certain Benjaminite to come to him, and that man would be God's appointee. The Benjaminite, Saul, arrived in 2909 AM, asking to see the seer, or prophet. Samuel told Saul that he was the prophet, and that Saul should stay and dine with him. Samuel also told Saul that some donkeys that he had lost had been found. Saul accepted Samuel's invitation, and Samuel set before Saul a reserved portion. (1_Samuel 9:15-24 )

The next day, Samuel asked Saul to rise early, so that they could start traveling toward Bethel and the tomb of Rachel. On the way, Samuel asked Saul to send his servant ahead of him. (1_Samuel 9:25-27 ) Then Samuel took a flask of oil and poured the oil over Saul's head. He told Saul then that God had chosen Saul to be Israel's first true king. (1_Samuel 10:1 )

Samuel again summoned all the Israelites to Mizpah and gave them this message: they had rejected God as their direct Ruler and asked for a king, and now God would give them one. Then he cast lots, and the lot fell successively on the tribe of Benjamin, then the Matrite clan, and finally Saul. At first Saul hid from Samuel next to his tribe's baggage train, but Samuel had him fetched out. Saul actually stood head and shoulders taller than all the Israelites. Samuel announced Saul as the choice, and the people acclaimed Saul as their king, except for a few malcontents who refused to accept his authority. (1_Samuel 10:17-27 )

Almost immediately Saul fought a battle against King Nahash the Ammonite, and won. Then the people demanded of Samuel that he deliver up the malcontents for summary execution, but Saul overruled them. Samuel then summoned the people to Gilgal and repeated the coronation of Saul. (1_Samuel 11 )

Samuel then gave an address to the people on Valedictory::1 Sivan 2909 AM. He reviewed the history of the era of the Judges and rebuked the people for asking for a king. God sent a thunderstorm to underscore His displeasure, but Samuel advised the people never to turn away from God, and that God would not abandon His people. (1_Samuel 12 )

Quarrels with Saul

Samuel would have two occasions to quarrel with Saul. The first occurred in the second official year of Saul's reign (2911 AM/1093 BC). The Philistines gathered a very large force of 30,000 chariots and 6,000 horsemen, while Saul had only 3,000 infantrymen, divided between himself and his son Jonathan. Samuel told Saul to wait for him to come to the camp at Gilgal to make a burnt offering. Samuel was late in arriving, and when he arrived, he found Saul making the burnt offering without waiting for Samuel.

Samuel told Saul that if he had only waited, God would have established his kingdom forever. Now, that was not to be. In fact, Samuel predicted that God would soon find another man to be king instead of Saul. (1_Samuel 13:1-14 )

The second quarrel was over Saul's treatment of the Amalekites. Samuel gave Saul a direct message from God to attack the Amelekites and destroy them completely. Instead of doing this, Saul captured King Agag of Amalek alive and also preserved some livestock and other valuable spoil. This sin was very similar to the sin of Achan the Troublemaker at Jericho. Samuel came to Saul and rebuked him for the last time, saying that Saul had disobeyed God in taking spoil when God's orders had been for complete destruction. For this, God would eventually remove Saul as king of Israel. At first, Saul tried to lie to Samuel and say that he had obeyed God's orders, but his soldiers had disobeyed in the taking of spoil, but Samuel would not accept this. Then Saul admitted that he had sinned against God and asked Samuel's pardon, but now pardon was not for Samuel to grant, and Samuel said so. Finally Saul tried to hold Samuel by catching hold of his robe, and succeeded only in tearing the robe. Samuel told Saul that God was not an ordinary man, given to changing His mind. (1_Samuel 15:1-31 )

The last thing that Samuel did was to summon Agag and execute him summarily. Samuel then went back to his home in Ramah. He never saw Saul again. (1_Samuel 15:32-35 )

Anointing of David

In 2934 AM (1070 BC), God sent Samuel to Bethlehem, the small town south of Jerusalem near the site of the tomb of Rachel. Bethlehem was the home of a family of the tribe of Judah that descended from Nahshon, the first clan leader of Judah during the Exodus of Israel. God told Samuel to take a heifer with him and tell anyone who asked that he had come to Bethlehem to offer a sacrifice to God. Then he would invite Jesse and his sons to attend.

Jesse came, and he and seven of his sons stepped forward. Samuel looked at each son in turn, and God said that Samuel should look for another son. Samuel passed over seven young men and then asked Jesse whether he had any other sons. Jesse said that he had an eighth son who was left to tend the sheep. Samuel told Jesse to summon him.

Then the eighth son arrived. This was a boy of about fifteen, ruddy and with a handsome face. God told Samuel, "This is the one." So Samuel took a flask of oil and anointed the boy with it. This was David, who would eventually succeed Saul as king. (1_Samuel 16:1-13 )

Death

Samuel died in 2944 AM (1060 BC) and was buried in Ramah. This occurred during the civil war between David and Saul. (1_Samuel 25 )

Five years later, Saul made his infamous consultation of the Witch of Endor and asked her to conjure the spirit of Samuel for him. An apparition of Samuel then gave Saul his final warning: that because he had consistently disobeyed God, he would fall in battle with the Philistines. (1_Samuel 28:1-18 ) That disaster happened the next day. (1_Samuel 31:1-8 )

The Eastern Orthodox Church celebrates a feast day for Samuel on August 20.[7]

Critical Views

Wayne Blank readily acknowledges[6] that multiple authors wrote the two Books of Samuel. No other inference is reasonable, because Samuel died before the events of the first book were complete.

Hirsch and others cite several unnamed authorities as saying that the present Books of Samuel (originally published as one volume) were written much later than the events that they describe, and are actually compilations of often inconsistent stories. [2][4][8] Hirsch also declares, with no warrant, that the Masoretic Text of the books of Samuel is "corrupt."[8]

The main objection seems to be to the two different narratives concerning the accession of Saul. But these authorities never consider that Saul might have received two separate acclamations. The first acclamation occurs after a choice by lot. The apparent reliance on randomness is misleading. God is Sovereign over all events, and therefore nothing is truly random. The second acclamation follows a military victory as decisive as the victory of Gideon, and such a victory would be a further sign that Saul had the blessing of God, at least at first.


Preceded by
Successor of::Samson
Member of::Judge
Flourit::15 Sivan 2903 AMDied::Abib 2944 AM
Last
First Member of::Prophet
Flourit::Abib 2865 AMDied::Abib 2944 AM
VacantTitle next held bysucceeded by::Nathan

See Also


References

  1. 1.0 1.1 Jones, Floyd N., The Chronology of the Old Testament, Green Forest, AR: Master Books, 2004, p. 279 and Chart 4
  2. 2.0 2.1 Hirsch EG, Bachler W, and Lauterbach JZ, "Samuel," The Jewish Encyclopedia, n.d. Accessed December 26, 2008.
  3. Konig, G, "Samuel," AboutBibleProphecy, n.d. Accessed December 26, 2008.
  4. 4.0 4.1 "Samuel." Encyclopædia Britannica. 2008. Encyclopædia Britannica Online. Accessed December 26, 2008 <http://www.britannica.com/EBchecked/topic/520794/Samuel>.
  5. "Samuel," WebBible Encyclopedia, n.d. Accessed December 26, 2008.
  6. 6.0 6.1 Blank, Wayne, "Samuel," Daily Bible Study, 2001. Accessed December 26, 2008.
  7. Samuel by OrthodoxWiki
  8. 8.0 8.1 Hirsch EG, "Samuel, Books of," The Jewish Encyclopedia, n.d. Accessed December 26, 2008.