Laban

De CreacionWiki.

Laban (Hébreu לָבָן, Lavan, Lāḇān « blanc ») est un ancêtre direct de la maison d'Israël. Mais son histoire se marque pour la plupart par fraude, commise par lui et contre lui.

Sommaire

Famille

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Térach
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Haran
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Lot
 
Milca
 
Nachor
 
Sara
 
Abraham
 
Agar
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Moab
 
Ammon
 
Bethuel
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Laban
 
Rebecca
 
 
 
Isaac
 
Ismaël
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Léa
 
Rachel
 
Ésaü
 
Jacob

Laban était fils de Bethuel, qui était le fils le plus jeun de Nachor et Milca. Il s'appelle communement l'Araméen, ou le Syrien, parce qu'il habitait à Padan-aram, pays d'Aram.

Sa soeur était Rebecca, qui s'est mariée avec Isaac en 2148 AM. Quatre-vingt-dix-sept ans plus tard, il rencontrerait Jacob, qui se marierait avec ses deux filles, Rachel et Léa.[1][2][3][4]

La Bible ne donne point de date pour la naissance ou la mort de Laban. Les dates les plus importantes des vies d'Isaac et Jacob indiquent qu'il peut avoir véçu pour un laps de temps entre 140 et 150 ans. C'est en accord avec les durées de vie d'Isaac et Jacob. Mais quelques oeuvres littéraires juives identifient Laban avec plus qu'une personne.[4]

Mariage de Rebecca

En 2148 AM, Eliezer de Damas, représentant d'Abraham, est venu à Padan-aram pour chercher une femme pour Isaac. Rebecca l'a rencontré d'abord et à reçu de lui trois bijoux chers. Ceci a fait une bonne impression avec Laban et son père Bethuel, et donc Laban s'est précipité au puits de communauté pour accueillir Eliezer et l'inviter à loger chez soi. Quelques passages rabbiniques accusent Laban d'avoir l'intention d'assassiner Eliezer[4]. Pour Josèphe, il n'en a pas question,[5] ni pour aucune autre source.

En tout cas, Laban a conclu les négociations avec Eliezer et à la fin a dit que Dieu devait avoir ordonné les événements, et pour cette raison Laban et Bethuel devraient ne dire rien bon ou mal envers le mariage. Il a donné son consentement, et Rebecca a quitté Padan-aram pour se marier avec Isaac.[6]

Rencontre avec Jacob

En 2245 AM, Jacob, fils d'Isaac, est venu à Padan-aram, aussi pour chercher une femme. Jacob a renconté Rachel, fille plus jeune de Laban, au puits de communauté. Il a roulé la pierre du puits et a abreuvé les moutons que Laban a eu envoyé au puits avec Rachel.

Laban a donné son consentment à un mariage entre Jacob et Rachel, à condition que Jacob sert Laban depuis sept ans. Jacob s'est mis en accord. Mais que le temps coutumier s'est passé pour un mariage, Laban a substitué sa fille plus âgée, Léa, pour Rachel. Quand Jacob a protesté, Laban a dit qu'il ne pourrait pas en conscience nette permettre à une fille plus jeune de se marier avant une fille plus âgée. Puil il a dit que Jacob pourrait se marier avec Rachel aussi, s'il se mettrait en accord de servir Laban pour sept ans plus. Jacob s'est mis en accord avec ça aussi.[7]

En 2259 AM, Jacob a eu servi depuis ses quatorze ans originaux. Mais Laban était peu disposé pour permettre à Jacob de partir. Ainsi il a offri à Jacob tout de gâges qu'il voulait, si Jacob servirait Laban depuis six ans plus. Jacob a demandé à Laban de lui donner n'importe quels moutons, chèvres, ou bétails qui étaient tachetés ou décoloré en n'importe quel moyen. Jacob puis a préparé des tiges de bois de peuplier vert, noisetier, et marronier, avec de traînées blanches, et les a placé en les endroits où les plus forts des animaux boiraient ou concevraient. Par ce moyen Jacob est devenu très riche au détriment de Laban.[8] (Genèse 30:26-43 )

Fiote de Jacob

Vers l'année de 2265 AM, Laban et Jacob ont eu appris de se soupçonner énormement. Puis tout à coup Jacob a quitté Laban, et a pris Léa, Rachel, les deux bonnes que Laban a eu donné à Jacob, et tous ces bétails. Laban a découvert aussi que quelqu'un—il n'a jamais découvert qui—a volé les idoles du ménage de Laban. Laban a poursuit Jacob et lui a rattrapé après sept jours. Laban a accusé Jacob du vol des idoles, et Jacob indignément a invité à Laban de fouiller son camp pour elles. Laban a fouilli, et n'a trouvé rien. Enfin Laban et Jacob se sont mis en accord de se quitter, et de bâtir un monticule de pierre, qui s'appelait Giléad, ou « monticule de témoignage, » pour cacheter l'accord.[9]

Modèle:Portail biographique

Références

  1. Blank, Wayne. « Bible Study: Laban. » Church of God Daily Bible Study, n.d. Accédé le 7 novembre 2008.
  2. Blank, Wayne. « Bible Study: Jacob and Laban. » Church of God Daily Bible Study, n.d. Accédé le 7 novembre 2008.
  3. Albert, Francis X.E. « Laban. » The Catholic Encyclopedia. Vol. 8. New York: Robert Appleton Company, 1910. Accédé le 7 novembre 2008.
  4. 4,0, 4,1 et 4,2 Hirsch EG, Seligsohn M, et Schechter S. « Laban. » The Jewish Encyclopedia, 2002. Accédé le 7 novembre 2008.
  5. Josèphe, Antiquités, I.16.1-3
  6. Ussher, James. The Annals of the World. Green Forest, AR: Master Books, 2003 (ISBN 0890513600), pgh. 94.
  7. Ussher, op. cit., pghh. 115-116.
  8. Ussher, op. cit., pgh. 122
  9. Ussher, op. cit., pgh. 125


Voyez aussi

Récupérée de « http://creationwiki.org/fr/Laban »
Outils personnels
Autres langues

The Creation Wiki is made available by the NW Creation Network
Watch monthly live webcast - Like us on Facebook - Subscribe on YouTube

Laban

From CreationWiki, the encyclopedia of creation science

Jump to: navigation, search

Laban (Hebrew: לבן, Lāḇān; "white") is a direct ancestor of the House of Israel. But his story is marked largely by fraud, committed by him and against him.

Contents

Family

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Terah
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Haran
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Lot
 
Milcah
 
Nahor
 
Sarah
 
Abraham
 
Hagar
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Moab
 
Ammon
 
Bethuel
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Laban
 
Rebekah
 
 
 
Isaac
 
Ishmael
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Leah
 
Rachel
 
Esau
 
Jacob

Laban was the son of Bethuel, who was the youngest son of Nahor and Milcah. He is commonly called the Aramean, or the Syrian, because he lived in Padan-aram, the country of Aram.

His sister was Rebekah, who married Isaac in 2148 AM. Ninety-seven years later, he would meet Jacob, who would marry his two daughters, Rachel and Leah.[1][2][3][4]

The Bible gives no dates for Laban's birth or death. The key dates from the lives of Isaac and Jacob indicate that he may have lived for a span of time between 140 and 150 years. This is consistent with the life spans of Isaac and Jacob. However some Jewish literature identifies Laban with more than one person.[4]

Marriage of Rebekah

In 2148 AM, Eliezer of Damascus, steward of Abraham, came to Padan-aram to seek a wife for Isaac. Rebekah met him first and received from him three expensive pieces of jewelry. This impressed Laban and his father Bethuel, and so Laban rushed to the community well to welcome Eliezer and invite him to lodge at his house. Some rabbinical passages accuse Laban of intending to murder Eliezer[4]. Flavius Josephus says no such thing,[5] and neither does any other source.

In any case, Laban concluded the negotiations with Eliezer and ultimately said that God must have ordained the events, and for that reason Laban and Bethuel should say nothing good or bad about the marriage. He gave his consent, and Rebekah left Padan-aram to marry Isaac.[6]

Encounter with Jacob

In 2245 AM, Jacob, son of Isaac, came to Paddan Aram, also to seek a wife. Jacob met Rachel, Laban's younger daughter, at the community well. He rolled the stone from the well and watered the sheep that Laban had sent to the well with Rachel.

Laban consented to a marriage between Jacob and Rachel, on condition that Jacob serve Laban for seven years. Jacob agreed. But when the customary time had elapsed for a wedding, Laban substituted his older daughter Leah for Rachel. When Jacob protested, Laban said that he could not in good conscience allow a younger daughter to marry ahead of an older one. He then said that Jacob could marry Rachel also, if he would agree to serve Laban for an additional seven years. Jacob agreed to this as well.[7]

In 2259 AM, Jacob had served his original fourteen years. But Laban was reluctant to see Jacob leave. So he offered Jacob whatever wage he wished, if Jacob would serve Laban for six more years. Jacob asked for any sheep, goats, or cattle that were spotted or discolored in any way. Jacob then prepared rods of green poplar, hazel, and chestnut wood, with white streaks, and set them in places where the strongest of the animals would drink or conceive. In that manner Jacob became very rich at Laban's expense.[8] (Genesis 30:26-43 )

Flight of Jacob

By the year 2265 AM, Laban and Jacob had grown extremely suspicious of one another. Then suddenly Jacob left Laban, and took Leah, Rachel, the two maids that Laban had given to Jacob, and all his cattle. Laban also discovered that someone—he never discovered who—had stolen Laban's household idols. Laban pursued Jacob and caught up with him after seven days. Laban accused Jacob of the theft of his idols, and Jacob indignantly invited Laban to search his camp for them. Laban searched, and found nothing. At last Laban and Jacob agreed to part ways, and build a cairn of rocks, called Gilead, or "the witness cairn," to seal the agreement.[9]

See Also

Creationwiki bible portal.png
Browse


References

  1. Blank, Wayne. "Bible Study: Laban." Church of God Daily Bible Study, n.d. Accessed November 7, 2008.
  2. Blank, Wayne. "Bible Study: Jacob and Laban." Church of God Daily Bible Study, n.d. Accessed November 7, 2008.
  3. Albert, Francis X.E. "Laban." The Catholic Encyclopedia. Vol. 8. New York: Robert Appleton Company, 1910. Accessed November 7, 2008.
  4. 4.0 4.1 4.2 Hirsch EG, Seligsohn M, and Schechter S. "Laban." The Jewish Encyclopedia, 2002. Accessed November 7, 2008.
  5. Josephus, Antiquities, I.16.1-3
  6. Ussher, James. The Annals of the World. Green Forest, AR: Master Books, 2003 (ISBN 0890513600), pgh. 94.
  7. Ussher, op. cit., pghh. 115-116.
  8. Ussher, op. cit., pgh. 122
  9. Ussher, op. cit., pgh. 125

External Links

Personal tools
In other languages