The Annals of the World

De CreationWiki
Theannalsoftheworld.jpg

Description

de James Ussher
Larry Pierce, rédacteur
960 pages, relié
ISBN 0890513600

The Annals of the World (Les Annales du Monde) s'est remis à jour du manuscrit original latin du 17ème siècle en anglais moderne et fait disponible au grand public pour la première fois en 2003. Dans ses pages se trouve l'histoire fascinante de l'ancien monde de la création en Genèse jusqu'à la destruction du temple de Jérusalem. Considéré pas seulement un classique littéraire, mais aussi une référence exacte, The Annals of the World était si bien regardé pour son exactitude que la frise chronologique de lui était inclut en les marges de plusieures Bibles à la version autorisée durant les 18ème, 19ème, et 20ème siècles, rappelant le fait que la terre n'a qu'environ 6 000 ans.

Source

Critique

James Ussher ({{#show: James Ussher|?Né(e)}}–fl. {{#show: James Ussher|?Fleurit}}–{{#show: James Ussher|?Mort(e)}}) doit sans doute se classer avec Hérodote, Thucydide, Plutarque, Suétone, Tacite, Dion Cassius, et Pline l'Ancien et Jeune comme historien. The Annals of the World, sa grande oeuvre, est le résultat d'un vivant de voyages, d'études, et de recherche.

Ussher a essayé de joindre la Bible à toutes les autres oeuvres d'histoire documentée, et présenter un traitement unifié de l'histoire naturelle et politique du monde de la Création à 70 ap. J-C, la date de la destruction du Temple de Jérusalem par l'empereur avenir Tite de Rome. Pour le faire, il a dépendu fortement des anciennes sources historiques, et même a fait des voyages à la région méditerranée pour examiner autant des sources primaires qu'il pourrait. Personne après (peut-être) Josèphe n'a eu essayé de joindre les histories bibliques et extra-bibliques après la façon d'Ussher.

La Chronologie

La plupart des gens se souviennent d'Ussher à cause de la chronologie qui a son nom—et avec bonne raison, parce qu'Ussher a décidé de régler la chronologie de la Bible avant d'essayer de joindre les autres chronologies à elle. Il devait d'abord décider quel texte de l'Ancien Testament il utiliserait—la Septante, le torah samaritain, ou le texte Masorétique. Il a choisi le texte masorétique après établissant qu'il était assez fiable que n'importe quel ancien texte pourrait être, et étais assez proche à un texte original qu'il pourrait obtenir.

Après qu'il a décidé du texte, il a dépendu aussi de nombreux indices internes en diverses parts de l'Ancien Testament, y compris:

En outre, il a supposé:

Enfin, il n'a pas dépendu d'aucunes théories archéologiques concernantes la date de la Prise de Jérusalem. Au lieu, il a calculé en arrière l'âge de la terre de la date de la mort de Nabuchodonosor II.

Pour une autre discussion de la calculation par Ussher de la date de création, voyez Anno Mundi#James Ussher.

Sources extra-bibliques ou « profanes »

Ussher a dépendu des source historiques extra-bibliques quand elles traitaient des sujets que la Bible ne traitait pas. La Bible était toujours sa source normal, et toutes les autres sources devraient céder à la Bible en son traitement.

Les sources extra-bibliques les plus importantes qu'il avait était les compte-rendus astronomiques. La datation astronomique est une des méthodes les plus fiables connues à la science historique pour joindre les chronologies de deux civilisations différentes. Ussher le connaissait et donc a dépendu fortement des mentions historiques des éclipses totaux du soleil et de la lune, observations des planètes, etc. Il utilisait aussi la datation astronomique pour calculer que la naissance de Christ s'est passé quatre ans plus tôt du calcul traditionnel julien—peut-être dépendant des notes de l'astronome allemand Johannes Kepler.

Ussher utilisait nombreuses autres sources, y compris histoires par Josèphe et autres anciens historiens. Mais le traitement le plus remarquable par Ussher de n'importe quelle source donnée doit être son traitement de Manéthon, le prêtre grec qui a fait le premier essai à une chronologie d'ancienne Égypte. La faute la plus importante de Manéthon était, bien entendu, supposer que les plusieures « dynasties » des Pharaons marchaient consécutivement. Ceci impliquait que la première dynastie d'Égypte a commencé plus tôt que le déluge global—qui Ussher savait être impossible. Ussher a résous la problème par un moyen unique: il a tronqué la chronologie de Manéthon et simplement s'est débarrassé de toutes les dynasties plus tôt que le Moyen Royaume comme mythes. Mais ceci a mené Ussher aussi de faire une faute importante: de supposer que deux Pharaons nommé Ramsès régnaient depuis soixante-six ans, et que le premier de ceux était le Pharaon de l'Exode d'Israël.

Ussher a utilisé aussi des sources mythologiques grecques, et supposait vraiment que beaucoup des personages de mythologie classique était vrais rois et reines. Il a utilisé nombreux autres sources, pour la plupart pour l'histoire assyrien—et, malheureusement, un feu en Dublin, Irlande a détruit beaucoup de cettes sources.

Fiabilité

Les Annales sont, par nécessité, une source secondaire. Une telle source est strictement assez fiable que ses primaires. L'étant donné, Ussher est en accord remarquable—d'habitude exactement ou dedans un ou deux ans—avec la plupart des historiens moderns en leur traitement de l'histoire babylonienne, médo-persane, greco.macédonienne, et romaine. En fait, Ussher date la destruction du Temple par Nabuchodonosor II de Babylone à 588 av. J-C, très près de la date de 586 av. J-C que la plupart des archéologues modernes ont assigné à cet événement.

Il calcule la date de Creation comme le 23 octobre 4004 av. J-C. Cette date se dérive de deux suppositions importantes: qu'Abraham est né lorsque son père Térach avait 130 ans au lieu de soixante-dix, et que le séjour en Égypte a commencé avec l'engagement abrahamique et pas avec l'entrée de Jacob dans Égypte. Ni l'une supposition ni l'autre n'est absoluement incontournable, mais Ussher fournit de témoignage fort pour les deux.

Mais la controverse la plus prononcée s'est développée avec la dissertation d'Edwin R. Thiele sur la chronologie des Royaumes Divisés. Cette controverse sur la chronologie biblique vient au fond de n'importe quelle appréciation de fiabilité, parce qu'elle s'engage envers si on accepte l'Écriture comme primaire, ou permettra aux preuves séculaires—elles-mêmes quelquefois de fiabilité douteuse—de tromper l'Écriture.

La rejection arbitraire par Ussher de la moitié des listes de rois de Manéthon est le résultat de sa répétition de l'erreur originale de Manéthon—de supposer que tous les rois d'Égypte, comme listés, ont régné consécutivement. En outre, il peut-être ne s'est jamais rendu compte que les anciens rois d'Égypte récrivaient d'habitude les histoires de leurs prédécesseurs en une manière en laquelle George Orwell prédirait plus tard que les gouvernements de l'avenir se comporteraient. La correction du compte-rendu historique d'Égypte se laisserait aux archéologues modernes.

Cela mis à part, son calcul des rois des Royaumes Divisés est assez fiable que n'importe quel autre calcule que n'importe quelle autre personne a essayé. Ses calculs des dates de la Crucifiement et Résurrection de Jésus-Christ démontrent la même attention exacte à détail qui influence les restes des Annales. Plus importamment, Ussher a établi une fondation remarquablement solide pour la recherche historique, et une qui s'est soutenue remarquablement bien depuis presque quatre siècles. Ainsi, si les Annales souffre des problèmes de fiabilité, elles sont presque entièrement le resultat des problèmes avec les sources séculaires ou « profanes » qu'Ussher avait disponible à lui, et moins souvent d'une interprétation douteuse de l'Écriture.

Complétude

Ussher a fini son compte à 70 ap. J-C, en la conviction que l'historie des Juifs s'est finie en cette année. Mais son traitement de l'histoire de civilisation occidentale vers cette année est stupéfiamment compréhensif. Ses suppositions concernant divers premiers rois mentionnés en les mythes classiques ne sont pas probablement exactes. Mais son traitement de l'histoire classique au-delà que, peut-être, 1300 av. J-C est assez riche que la traitement de l'histoire moderne en n'importe quel manuel moderne d'histoire.

En outre, beaucoup de ses supposition concernantes des anciens événements se sont prouvées exactes, même alors que depuis siècles les Annales étaient la seule source occidentale extra-biblique attestante à eux. Ceux incluaient:

  • La Guerre de Troie, qu'Ussher place durant l'ère des Juge. Jusque l'archéologue Heinrich Schliemann a découvert le site, personne n'acceptait l'existence d'une ville qui s'appelait Troie. (Schliemann découvrirait plus tard des preuves positives de la civilisation mychénienne.)
  • L'existence des Assyriens et leurs guerres avec le Royaume d'Israël. Au regard de ça, beaucoup d'archéologues supposaient que les Assyriens n'ont jamais existé—avant la découverte ultime du site de Ninive, capitale de cet empire, mentionnée par Jonas.

Ressources supplémentaires

L'édition courante des Annales inclut aussi huit appendices valables qui établissent une fondation minutieuse pour les méthodes et calcules d'Ussher. Ces appendices incluent une description très minutieuse du calendrier républicain de Rome et le premier calendrier juien (y compris tous les détails concernant le placement du Calends, Nones, et Îdes en chaque mois de chaque calendrier), une discussion de la frise chronologique calculée d'Ussher pour les royaumes du nord et du sud, deux ŕedactions différentes regardantes la chronologie de l'empire assyrien, une collection des anciennes cartes, une discussion du calendrier hébraïque et pourquoi son époque commence tellement plus tard que la création, et enfin, une discussion de comment l'archéologie en générale est moins fiable que la Bible (parce qu'elle a un passé professionnel si pauvre pour soutenir n'importe quelle conclusion donnée d'une décennie à la prochaine). N'importe quelle personne essayante de régler n'importe quelle question des calculs chronologiques d'Ussher doit étudier ces appendices pour comprendre exactement comment Ussher travaillait, et comment il a resté assez proche à l'Écriture que n'importe quel homme avant ou après.

Conclusion

The Annals of the World est un des manuels les plus compréhensifs de l'ancienne histoire disponibles, et un dont les dates se sont prouvés exactes ou à moins assez près d'exactes que celles des autres historiens. Il ferrait un ajout valable à n'importe quelle bibliothèque d'école ou d'un écolier à maison, si à pas de cause que son traitement compréhensif de l'ancienne histoire. Et même si on dispute le calcule de Ussher de la date de l'Exode et autres dates importantes en l'histoire judéo-chrétienne, cette oeuvre est inestimable en montrant comment Ussher a assigné cettes dates au commencement, et quelles suppositions il faisait.

  • Critique de The Annals of the World de Temlakos 23:29, 15 décembre 2006 (EST)
  • Révisée et éditée par Temlakos 09:14, 2 janvier 2007 (EST)
  • Révisée et éditée par Temlakos 13:13, 21 novembre 2008 (UTC)

Critiques externelles et références connexes

Citant cette ressource

Dans la CréationWiki, copier le texte cité en bloc exactement comme il apparaît:

  • Style MLA:
    <ref name=Ussher>[[James Ussher]], ''[[The Annals of the World]]'', [[Larry Pierce]], réd., Green Forest, AR: Master Books, 2003 (ISBN 0890513600), pghh. </ref>

Pour imprimer, copier et formater comme ça:

  • Style MLA:
    James Ussher, The Annals of the World, Larry Pierce, réd., Green Forest, AR: Master Books, 2003, pghh.

Notez que les paragraphes numérotés, et pas les pages, sont les meilleures parts pour citer des Annales.

Creationwiki french biblique portal.png
Naviguez


Voyez aussi

The Creation Wiki is made available by the NW Creation Network
Watch monthly Live-Webcast - Like us on Facebook - Subscribe on YouTube

The Annals of the World

From CreationWiki, the encyclopedia of creation science

Jump to: navigation, search
Theannalsoftheworld.jpg

Contents

Description

by James Ussher
Larry Pierce, editor
960 page hardcover
ISBN 0890513600

The Annals of the World was updated from the 17th-century original Latin manuscript to modern English and made available to the general public for the first time in 2003. In its pages can be found the fascinating history of the ancient world from the Genesis creation through the destruction of the Jerusalem temple. Considered not only a literary classic, but also an accurate reference, The Annals of the World was so highly regarded for its preciseness that the timeline from it was included in the margins of many King James Version Bibles throughout the 18th, 19th, and 20th centuries, calling to mind the fact that the earth is only around 6,000 years old.

Source

Review

James Ussher (4 January 158114 January 1581
29 Teveth 5341 He
28 Teveth 5584 AM
–fl. 16251625
5385 He
5628 AM
21 March 165621 March 1656
25 Adar 5416 He
54 Adar 5659 AM
) must surely rank with Herodotus, Thucydides, Plutarch, Suetonius, Tacitus, Dio Cassius, and Pliny the Elder and Younger as an historian. The Annals of the World, his magnum opus, is the result of a lifetime of travel, study, and research.

Ussher attempted to join the Bible to all other works of recorded history, and to present a unified treatment of the natural and political history of the world from Creation to 70 AD, the date of the destruction of the Temple of Jerusalem by the future Roman Emperor Titus. To do this, he relied heavily on ancient historical sources, and even traveled to the Mediterranean region to examine as many primary sources as he could. No one since (perhaps) Flavius Josephus had attempted to join Biblical and extra-Biblical history as Ussher did.

The Chronology

Most people remember Ussher for the chronology that bears his name—and with good reason, because Ussher determined to settle the chronology of the Bible before he attempted to unite other chronologies with it. He first had to decide which text of the Old Testament he would use—the Septuagint, the Samaritan Pentateuch, or the Masoretic Text. He chose the Masoretic after determining that it was as reliable as any ancient text could be, and was as close to an original as he could obtain.

After deciding on the text, he further relied on a number of internal clues in various parts of the Old Testament, including:

Further to this, he assumed:

Finally, he did not rely on any archaeological theories concerning the date of the Fall of Jerusalem. Instead, he back-calculated the age of the earth from the date of the death of Nebuchadnezzar II.

For another discussion of Ussher's reckoning of the date of Creation, see Anno Mundi#James Ussher.

Extra-Biblical or "Profane" Sources

Ussher relied on extra-Biblical historical sources when they treated subjects that the Bible did not treat. The Bible was always his standard source, and every other source would have to yield to the Bible in his treatment.

The most important extra-Biblical sources he had were astronomical records. Astronomical dating is one of the most reliable methods known to historical science for uniting the chronologies of two different civilizations. Ussher understood this and thus relied heavily on historical mentions of total eclipses of the sun and moon, sightings of the planets, and so on. He also used astronomical dating to calculate that the birth of Christ was four years earlier than the traditional Julian reckoning—probably relying on the notes of the German astronomer Johannes Kepler.

Ussher used a number of other sources, including histories by Josephus and other ancient historians. Yet the most remarkable treatment by Ussher of any given source must be his treatment of Manetho, the Greek priest who made the first attempt at a chronology of ancient Egypt. Manetho's chief error was, of course, to assume that the many "Dynasties" of Pharaohs ran consecutively. This implied that the First Dynasty of Egypt began earlier than the Global Flood—which Ussher knew to be impossible. Ussher solved the problem in a unique way: he truncated Manetho's chronology and simply discarded all Dynasties earlier than the Middle Kingdom as myths. But this also led Ussher to make a key error: to assume that two Pharaohs named Ramesses reigned for sixty-six years each, and that the first of these was the Pharaoh of the Exodus of Israel.

Ussher also used Greek mythological sources, and actually assumed that many of the personages of classical mythology were real kings and queens. He used a number of other sources, chiefly for Assyrian history; sadly, a fire in Dublin, Ireland destroyed many of these sources.

Reliability

The Annals are, of necessity, a secondary source. Such a source is only as reliable as are its primaries. Given that, Ussher is in remarkable agreement—usually exactly or within one or two years—with most modern historians in their treatment of Babylonian, Medo-Persian, Greco-Macedonian, and Roman history. Indeed, Ussher places the destruction of the Temple by Nebuchadnezzar II of Babylon at 588 BC, very close to the 586 BC date that most modern archaeologists have assigned to this event.

He calculates the date of Creation as October 23, 4004 BC. This date derives from two key assumptions: that Abraham was born when his father Terah was 130 years of age rather than seventy, and that the Sojourn in Egypt began with the Abrahamic Covenant and not with the entry of Jacob into Egypt. Neither assumption is absolutely incontrovertible, but Ussher provides strong evidence for both.

The sharpest controversy, however, developed with Edwin R. Thiele's dissertation on the chronology of the Divided Kingdoms. This Biblical chronology dispute goes to the heart of any assessment of reliability, for it turns on whether one accepts Scripture as primary, or will allow secular evidence—itself sometimes of questionable reliability—to trump Scripture.

Ussher's arbitrary rejection of half of Manetho's king lists results from his repetition of Manetho's original error—assuming that the kings of Egypt, as listed, all ruled consecutively. Furthermore, he probably never realized that the ancient kings of Egypt routinely re-wrote the histories of their predecessors in a manner in which George Orwell would later predict that future governments would behave. The correction of the historical record of Egypt would be left to modern archaeologists.

That aside, his reckoning of the kings of the Divided Kingdom is as reliable as any other reckoning that anyone else has attempted. His calculations of the dates of the Crucifixion and Resurrection of Jesus Christ show the same exacting attention to detail that inform the rest of the Annals. Most importantly, Ussher laid a remarkably solid foundation for historical research, one that has held up remarkably well for nearly four centuries. If, therefore, the Annals suffers from reliability problems, then they result almost entirely with problems with the secular or "profane" sources that Ussher had available to him, and less often from a questionable interpretation of Scripture.

Completeness

Ussher stopped his account at 70 AD, in the belief that the history of the Jews ended in that year. But his treatment of the history of Western civilization up to that year is breathtakingly comprehensive. His assumptions concerning various early kings mentioned in classical myths are probably not accurate. But his treatment of classical history beyond, say, 1300 BC is as rich as is the treatment of modern history in any conventional textbook.

Moreover, many of his assumptions concerning ancient events have proved accurate, even though for centuries the Annals were the only Western extra-Biblical source attesting to them. These included:

  • The Trojan War, which Ussher places during the era of the Judges. Until the archaeologist Heinrich Schliemann discovered the site, no one accepted the existence of a city called Troy. (Schliemann would later discover positive evidence of the Mycenean civilization.)
  • The existence of the Assyrians and their wars with the Kingdom of Israel. In regard to this, many archaeologists had assumed that the Assyrians never existed—until the discovery of the site of Nineveh, capital of this empire, mentioned by Jonah.

Supplemental Resources

The current edition of the Annals also includes eight valuable Appendices that lay a thorough foundation for Ussher's methods and calculations. These Appendices include a very thorough description of the Roman Republican and early Julian calendar (including full particulars on the placement of the Calends, Nones, and Ides in every month of each one), a discussion of Ussher's calculated time-line for the Northern and Southern Kingdoms, two different essays regarding the chronology of the Assyrian Empire, a set of ancient maps, a discussion of the Hebrew calendar and why its epoch begins so much later than Creation seems to, and finally, a discussion of why archaeology in general is less reliable than the Bible (because it has such a poor track record of sustaining any given conclusion from one decade to the next). Anyone attempting to settle any question of Ussher's chronological calculations must study these Appendices to see exactly how Ussher worked, and how he stayed as close to Scripture as has any man before or since.

Conclusion

The Annals of the World is one of the most comprehensive textbooks of ancient history available, and one whose dates have held up at least as well as have those of other historians. It would make a valuable addition to any school or home-schooler's library, for its comprehensive treatment of ancient history alone. And even if one disputes Ussher's reckoning of the Exodus and other key dates in Judeo-Christian history, this work is invaluable in showing how Ussher assigned those dates to begin with, and what assumptions he made.

External Reviews and Related References

Citing this Resource

In CreationWiki, copy the block-quoted text exactly as it appears:

  • MLA style:
    <ref name=Ussher>[[James Ussher]], ''[[The Annals of the World]]'', [[Larry Pierce]], ed., Green Forest, AR: Master Books, 2003 (ISBN 0890513600), pghh. </ref>

In print, copy and format as follows:

  • MLA style:
    James Ussher, The Annals of the World, Larry Pierce, ed., Green Forest, AR: Master Books, 2003, pghh.

Note that numbered paragraphs, not pages, are the best parts to cite from the Annals.

Personal tools
In other languages